Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) begins at birth and ends when a child is 5, at the end of the Reception year.

The EYFS curriculum is the statutory framework that sets out children’s learning and development in the Foundation stage. It provides children with the skills and knowledge necessary to build the foundation of learning for future process and success throughout school and life.

The EYFS profile summarizes a child’s attainment at end of the foundation stage. This judgment in based on ongoing observation and assessments of the Characteristics of Effective Learning, as well as the Prime and the Specific Areas of Learning.

There are 17 Early-Learning Goals associated with the above-stated Areas of Learning. Each child is assessed against these goals at the end of the Reception year.

Characteristics of Effective Learning
  • Playing and exploring
  • Active learning
  • Creating and thinking critically
The Prime Areas of Learning
  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development
The Specific Areas of Learning
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive arts and design